Quality & Safeguarding

New practice standards

Team DSC

The NDIS (Quality Indicators) Guidelines have been amended to include three new practice standards. The amendment also makes changes to a number of existing standards. Notably, there are significant new requirements for risk management.

The new standards cover three areas:

  • Mealtime management

  • Severe dysphagia management

  • Emergency and disaster management.

The NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission (NDIS Commission) released the new NDIS Practice Standards and Quality Indicators and High Intensity Skill Descriptor less than a week ago and they take effect as of today. There is some itty-bitty transitional time for existing providers over the festive season to comply with all the standards.

Transition dates:

  • 15 November 2021: Severe Dysphagia Management

  • 13 December 2021: Mealtime Management

  • 24 January 2022: Emergency and Disaster Management

When will I be assessed against these standards?

  • Providers completing an audit for registration (certification, follow-up or verification) after 15th November 2021: the new standards apply from that date.

  • Existing NDIS providers (registered or recommended for registration pre 15th November 2021) completing mid-term/ surveillance audits: the new standards apply in line with the scope of audit and above transition times.

If you have an audit or follow-up coming up - best to check with your auditor about any changes to scope.

The new changes also call for a significant investment in staff training, specifically training on the following:

  • Infection prevention and control (including refresher training)

  • Responding to medical emergencies (including how to distinguish between urgent and non urgent health situations)

  • Personal Protective Equipment (including refresher training)

  • Management of waste and infectious and hazardous substances

  • Implementation of emergency and disaster management plans

  • Mealtime management (including how to seek help to manage risks, i.e., where this support is provided)

  • Severe dysphagia management (where this support is provided).

Much of this training will need to be done on an in-house and individualised basis but, rest assure, we are busy updating and building new content for our Fora Library that incorporates these developments.

You can read the NDIS Legislation Amendment (Quality Indicators) Guidelines 2021, NDIS Practice Standards and Quality Indicators and High Intensity Skill Descriptors online.

Or, if trawling through legislative amendments ain’t your thang, we’ve got you covered with an upcoming webinar on what you need to know. Psst – it’s free for Fora subscribers!